TSU welcomes Bicol University – ANTS




The Bicol University Association of Non-Teaching Staff, Inc. (BU-ANTS) visited Tarlac State University last May 22, 2019 to conduct a practical observation and benchmarking of the best practices of the TSU Non-Academic Staff Association (TSU NASA).


The TSU NASA, led by its president Ms. Grace Rosete, and the Human Resource Development Management Office, with its director Mr. Marlon Dela Cruz, assisted the BU-ANTS in this requested activity.


Upon arrival their arrival, TSU President Dr. Myrna Q. Mallari and Dr. Armee N. Rosel, Vice President for Research and Extension Services, warmly welcomed the group.


The forum commenced immediately after the welcoming of the group, who numbered around 25.


The two associations actively shared their best practices. Rosete proudly claimed that TSU NASA is registered with the Civil Service Commission and the Department of Labor and Employment.


According to Bilono, the BU-ANTS planned this week-long benchmarking last 2018 and were allowed by the university administration to organize it this year since they have ample time for preparation for the transition in the opening of the academic year from June to August.


Prior to visiting TSU, BU-ANTS have benchmarked Batangas State University, Cavite State University, and Bulacan State University. The group will proceed to Central Luzon State University after their short stay in TSU.


TSU Graduate Ranks 2nd in Electrical Engineering Board Exam


With a grade of 92.25%, Renzie Aldritz Mempin Pingol, 25, of the TSU College of Engineering and Technology, placed 2nd in the April 2019 Registered Electrical Engineer licensure examination.

Pingol bested 2,548 other examinees, according to the Professional Regulatory Commission.

In an interview, Pingol said he stayed in Singapore together with his family when he was young, and in his school there, he was taught to “study smart” and not to “study hard.”

By studying smart, he meant that he focused on his mistakes, making sure he would not commit them again.

This technique he said he shared with his classmates, from whom he also learned a lot.

He said Electrical Engineering was his choice, a decision supported by his father.

In college, he was an ordinary student who managed to balance his time.

He studied whenever there were exams and played computer games during his free time.

Pingol also said that academic advices from Dr. Miriam S. Galvez, CET Dean, and his teachers helped him reach his goals.

Companies are already calling to offer him jobs.

He plans to work immediately to support his family. His father and younger brother died in 2016 in an accident.

On May 7, during a flag raising ceremony at the Main Campus, President Myrna Q. Mallari and Dean Galvez handed him a check amounting to P80,000 as financial incentive from the university.

Also present were 21 other graduates from the Electrical Engineering Department who passed the EE exam.

TSU garnered a passing percentage of 91.30% for first time takers. [Ma. Teresa D. Madriaga, Office of Public Affairs]