Research History

In the Philippines, state universities and colleges (SUC’s) are mandated by their charters to execute the following functions: instruction, research, extension and production which are considered interrelated and mutually reinforcing.

Research and Development (R&D) had been emphasized as a tool to achieve the goals for national development and global competitiveness. Tarlac State University is at the heart of Tarlac Province and of Region 3 and is at the vantage point of development work.

As a university, TSU is expected to be a lead agency for research and development. Each member of the faculty is expected to be research-oriented with research outputs that are relevant to the needs of the university, the community and the nation.

Formal efforts to push forward the frontiers of knowledge through faculty research came 17 years after the establishment of Tarlac College of Technology (predecessor of the present-day Tarlac State University) in 1965 when an office for research and development services was created.

The office was separate from the Extension Services Office, which was headed by Prof. Adoracion Nogoy. Years later the two offices merged and then separated anew.

The research office led for 16 years (1984-1990) by Prof. Willy Fermin then succeeded by Prof. Victorio Tuazon, grew from one staff in 1984 (Mr. Ronald Pe), two in 1985 (Mr. Tiburcio Dumandan and Ms. Elizabeth Alarios) and three in 1987 (Mr. Dumandan, Ms. Alarios and Mr. Brigido Corpuz).

In 1991, Dr. Ismael Alonzo, assisted by Prof. Tuazon, Mr. Dumandan, Ms. Alarios and Mr. Corpuz, headed the unit. The TCT had just been converted into the Tarlac State University.

From 1992 until 1994, Dr. Alfredo Conte took over the helm of the merged research and extension units of the university.

The Tarlac State University, which started as a technological college, integrated the last two functions into one unit known as, the University Research and Extension office (UREO). Administrative Order No. 5, s. 1992 expanded a mandated function of this office by directing the respective deans and directors of the different university units that they shall be responsible for the implementation and monitoring of their unit’s research and extension service projects. The UREO’s chief concern shall be to decide and set policies university wide, consistent with the identified research and extension service priorities of the UREO and the TSU’s Five-Year Development Plan.

In 1995, research and extension became distinct units once again. Designated as Director for Research was Dr. Victoria Gengania. Trailblazing the university’s entry into the Information Age, she was reappointed by Dr. Dolores G. Matias, the first woman President of the university.

During Dr. Gengania’s time, a staff of four faculty members (Prof. Brigido Corpuz, also the Director of the Office for Grants and Endowments; Ms. Mirela Carlos, Mr. Edgar Macaraeg, former Network Administrator of the university’s Information Office) and a full time science and technology researcher (Mr. Rodel Botio, a chemist and an inventor) supports Director Gengania. Eventually, Dr. Gengania was appointed as VP for Planning Research and Extension and Dr. Corpuz was appointed as Director for Research.

In 2005, Dr. Victoria Gengania applied for a sabbatical leave which was consequently approved. When her leave of absence took effect, Dr. Brigido Corpuz was appointed as OIC Vice President for Planning Research and Extension and concurrent research director.

With the appointment of Dr. Priscilla C. Viuya as new president of the University in April 2006 upon the retirement of Dr. Dolores Matias, new appointments were made.

In June 07, 2006, Dr. Maria Elena D. David, a faculty member from the College of Arts and Social Sciences was appointed as the new Director of the University Research Office. Two full-time researchers, Xyris Gerard Fernandez and Engr. Bertrand Aldous Santillan supports the office.

Presently, Dr. Louella F. Ona is the Vice President for Research, Extension, Production and Development. Dr. Maria Elena D. David is appointed anew as the Research Director while Xyris Gerard A. Fernandez and Julie Liezel C. Ferrer are full time researchers manning the office.